Savannah State to observe Founders Day on November 12


Savannah State University will continue the annual tradition of Founders Day on Thursday, November 12, at 10 a.m. in Tiger Arena. The observance will focus on the history of SSU and its 125th anniversary. 

Edna B. Jackson, mayor of the city of Savannah, will be the guest speaker. As an alumna and SSU retiree, she will share her memories and express her thoughts on SSU’s importance in the area.

The Richard R. Wright Excellence Award

Additionally, awards will be given to four alumni. The Richard R. Wright Excellence Award, named for the first president, honors corporate or individual citizens, alumni and outstanding leaders, who have distinguished themselves through their expertise in social, educational and civic arenas.

This year’s recipients are Annette K. Brock, Ph.D., and Charles J. Elmore, Ph.D. Brock, professor emerita, worked at Savannah State for 33 years as professor and administrator, including two years as interim president of SSU. Elmore, professor emeritus and historian, taught at Savannah State for 35 years, leading the Journalism and Mass Communication program to accreditation and reaccreditation.

The Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award

The Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding alumni who exemplify the lofty ideals of SSU and demonstrate extraordinary support and loyalty to the university.

This year’s recipients are Percy Mark, Ph.D., and Dorothy Wilson, each lifelong educators. Mack has served as the superintendent of schools in Columbia, South Carolina; Dayton, Ohio; and as an assistant superintendent of the DeKalb County School System. Wilson is a retired public school teacher. She also volunteered with Greenbriar Children’s Center, the Department of Family and Children Services and served as the president of the Georgia Retired Educators Association.

Click here to support Savannah State University.

Courtesy of Rising Tide, Volume III, Issue IV, November 2015