Jackson State Wins SWAC Baseball Title


Courtesy: SWAC.org

Courtesy: SWAC.org

FORT WORTH, Texas – Jackson State University captured its 15th overall baseball title after defeating Prairie View A&M, 6-2, in the championship final of the 2013 SWAC Baseball Tournament on Sunday at LaGrave Field.

JSU (34-20), the SWAC Eastern Division champions and No. 1 seed, earned the tournament title for the first time under head coach Omar Johnson. The last time the Tigers won the championship was in 2000.

Tournament MVP, Alexander Juday (7-4), pitched his sixth complete game of the season throwing nine strikeouts. He gave up nine hits and two earned runs.

Stephen Curtis and Jose Cruz led JSU at the plate posting two RBI apiece. Bryce Taylor finished with two runs scored and Gary Thomas went 2-for-4 with a run scored.

In the third inning, Taylor doubled up the middle to score Thomas. Ethan Bright singled advancing Taylor. PVAMU committed a throwing error from left field scoring Taylor to give JSU a 2-0 lead.

The Tigers added another pair of runs in the fifth inning to push the lead, 4-1. Cruz singled down the left line to drive in SWAC Newcomer of the Year, Charles Tillery, and Taylor.

JSU then added insurance in the sixth and eigth. Curtis doubled  to plate Aneko Knowles (5-1) before grounding out in the eigth to add an unearned run (6-1).

Stephen Lunsford (1-4) took the loss for PVAMU (27-27) giving up five earned runs with three strikeouts.

Colby Hines finished 3-for-4 at bat for the Panthers with a RBI. Greg Salcido belted a home run in the fourth to register the Panthers first run. He also finished with a run scored.

Hines help PVAMU threaten in the ninth. Facing two outs, Hines singled to drive in Walter Wells. With two runners on base, Trey Price grounded out on with a tight catch at first to close the game.

The Panthers, last year’s tournament winner, left seven stranded on base and committed three errors.

Next, JSU earns the SWAC automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament and will move on to the Regionals to face a team to be announced during the 2013 NCAA Baseball Selection Show on May 27. The selection show will air on ESPNU at 1 p.m. (CT).

2013 Baseball All-Tournament Team Leo Rojas – Alabama State Dillon Cooper – Alabama State Angel Polo – Alcorn State Stephen Wallace – Southern Jerry Ford II – Texas Southern Jeff Sealy – Prairie View A&M Dominiq Harris – Prairie View A&M A.J. Helms – Prairie View A&M Aneko Knowles – Jackson State Charles Tillery – Jackson State Ethan Bright – Jackson State

2013 SWAC Baseball Tournament MVP Alexander Juday – Jackson State





Courtesy: SWAC.org

Leave a Comment