Delaware State University’s Designation As “Tree Campus USA” Reaffirmed For The 5th Consecutive Year

tree campus

DOVER, Del. – DSU held its annual Earth Day observance on April 22 and celebrated the University’s reaffirmed designation as a Tree Campus USA.

Joining DSU President Harry L. Williams for the observance program were Shawn Garvin, administrator of the EPA Region III, and Dr. Michael A. Valenti, forestry administrator, Delaware Forest Service of the Delaware Department of Agriculture.

Originally awarded the designation in 2012, the Tree Campus USA status has now been held by DSU for five consecutive years.

The designation goes to schools that have an implemented plan for tree care that is supported by school allocations, an established Campus Tree Advisory Committee, related education outreach, as well as an annual observance of Arbor Day.

While being among 255 schools in the country to have the Tree Campus USA designation, DSU is the only school in Delaware with that title. In 2012, DSU was the first Historically Black College or University (HBCU) to earn the designation; it has since been joined by four other HBCUs (Tennessee State University, Texas State University, Virginia State University and West Virginia State University).

The DSU main campus in Dover currently has hundreds of trees that are represented by 130 different species.




Dr. Arthur Tucker, DSU professor emeritus; Shawn Garvin, administrator EPA Region III; Dr. Susan Yost, retired DSU professor; DSU President Harry L. Williams; Dr. Michael A. Valenti, forestry administrator, Del. Forestry Service; Alexandra Davis, DSU Tree Campus representative; Dr. Cynthia Hong-Wa, DSU Herbarium curator; and Dr. Vita Pickrum, vice president of DSU Institutional Advancement.


Leave a Comment